chevy 362 engine temps

Item Posts    Sort Order

chevy 362 engine temps

shaneschiller5 shaneschiller5
New User | Posts: 1 | Joined: 09/15
Posted: 09/28/15
09:30 AM

Looking for alittle insight on water temp. just got the car out racing last weekend. had a driver in it as i am new to the sport. When he came in from the second 25 lap feature water temp was up to 260. I am concerned about engine damage as this is a fresh motor just built. any input would be great it is a hobby stock car. motor wass built professionally. 365 with 64cc heads bored .040 new stock waterpump, aluminum radiator, race fuel running 4412, timing set at 36.

Builder said it should have been around 210 or lower  

Just Try It1 Just Try It1
New User | Posts: 5 | Joined: 04/15
Posted: 10/18/15
09:40 AM

are you running a restrictor instead of a thermostat..?? or no restriction at all..

you did not mention what types of fans....

i am taking you are running straight water.. not coolant..

if i had access to a lathe and mill..   currently i don't..  i would modify a thermostat housing.. so i could have something like a jack screw set up to move a tapered cone in and out of the restrictor... i would also have a cooling system pressure gauge .. with it monitoring the pressure in the intake manifold coolant crossover  you will need probably a 100 PSI gauge.. and please use decent hose or copper tubing with brass SAE FLARE FiTTINGS to the gauge not rubber hose.. at least not in the drivers compartment..

let me describe a few things..

hope you get this..